Loading

General Areas for Additional Research

The listings below are general topic areas within the firearm/toolmark discipline. Additional research within any of these areas would be beneficial for all examiners. This list is not all inclusive, but is provided in an attempt to stimulate ideas and interest. It is intended to provide a starting point for those who may desire to do a research project. The names of the individuals listed below the various topics are intended to be mentors and resource people who can be an excellent source for guidance in the research endeavor. They have agreed to assist individuals in varying capacities during the research process. Please feel free to contact them directly.

Rimfire vs. Centerfire

Bill Conrad
scenepro@yahoo.com
540-898-3733

Standard vs. Polygonal Rifling Impressions
Construction

John Finor
finjohn@aol.com
215-685-3109

Breechface                    Firing Pin
Chamber Marks            Anvil Marks
Extractor Marks            Ejector Marks
Ejection Port                 Feed/Loading Marks

Nancy McCombs
nancy.mccombs@doj.ca.gov
559-294-4026

Distance Determination
Composition of Material to Identify as GSR

Jack Dillon
jhdillonjr@comcast.net
703-791-5559

Jim Hamby
jhamby@indygov.org
317-327-3670

Dom Denio
ddenio@leo.gov
703-632-7380

TASER

Rick Wyant
rick.wyant@wsp.wa.gov
206-262-6043

Trajectory Analysis      Ricochets

Mike Haag
mhaag@cabq.gov
505-823-4256

Pry-type                        Cutting-Type
Sawing-Type                 Pinch-Type

Carlo Rosati
RosatiVA@aol.com
703-632-7228  

Wood                             Bunter Marks

Jerry Miller
Gerald.Miller@atf.gov
404-417-2716
 

Bone and Cartilage

Richard Ernest
rernest@e-gunlab.com817-228-6526